What I Love About My Fuji X-E2

After a week or so of getting use to the camera, the button placement and the menus, I am now comfortable enough to go out with the camera and concentrate on the images rather than the camera.
Thus far, the image files made in both RAW and JPG have exceeded my expectations. The various “film types” made available when shooting in jpg mode produce files as good as if not better than my conversions in Lightroom. I am particularly impressed with the BW+Y mode. The increased contrast and color translation make for a great starting point when post processing black and white images in Lightroom.

The “Q” menu from Fuji is another feature that quickly spoiled me, and I’m not sure I would want to ever again go without. pic_25You have the ability to configure and save 7 preset options to call up at any point via one push of the “Q” button. So I have one saved for BW Landscape, one for portraits and one for color landscape.
Each preset can be configured with a specific ISO, Film Type, File Type, Sharpness Control etc. Very convenient.

 

I am also impressed with the handling of low light situations. My Nikon D200 produces very nice files up to about ISO400, and after that, the noise is really dBridge in the Fogisturbing. With the X-E2, I have been able to produce images at ISO 6400 that were beautiful. Sure, there is still noise at that ISO, but it is so smooth and even, that it appears intentional rather than a bad side effect.

To be fair, what I do not like is a common complaint about this camera. The location of the tripod mount. It is situated too close to the battery/memory card access door on the bottom of the camera, requiring the camera to be removed from the tripod, and if you use a quick mount system, removing the plate is required as well. I hope to solve this issue with the addition of a Really Right Stuff Grip Bracket I just picked up on Ebay. This has a built in Arca Swiss type plate built in, it repositions the tripod mount, and provides access to the battery without removing the bracket/grip. This should solve this complaint.
Another thing that I am having an issue with is inadvertently pressing buttons on the back of the camera while composing my shot. I think this is more a question of getting use to the size of the camera than anything else. I have used Nikon DSLRs which are more robust, and can be handled more easily without coming in contact with buttons on the back. But again, I think this is just a matter of getting accustomed to the new camera.

I’m sure to be discovering aspects of this camera, both positive and negative over the weeks to come, and will make mention of them in future posts. Thanks for reading and stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

